Evaluation and write up of the feedback given – “the visitor”

I have presented my short film to the rest of the class and some written feedback was given to improve my work and also saying what was good. I will now be writing what feedback I have been given and how I should move forward with my work and short films.

One of the people who gave feedback on my short film was Tammy Wilkinson. The feedback given on areas of development was that I should include more shots of the visitor (Dan’s character.) I feel that this would be good if I was to do this because of the fact that it will add more tension to the scene whilst also making the visitor more sinister. It will also make the film more interesting and explore the theme of “the visitor,” more. This will also mean I would have greater variation within my shots. Good things that were identified were that I had good quick editing at the start of the my film making it snappy. I feel that I should explore this technique more when I am creating future projects due to the fact that it is good use of editing. Another positive was that of the music, feel that I will always make sure that I have a soundtrack that fits with the tone of the film without being too cliché or cheesy. I feel that this is important due to keeping the tone of the film the same level throughout. The tracking shot was also praised as well, if that this is important because it says that I should include more of these in my other projects in the future.

The next person who gave feedback was Dan Pederson, this was the person who I worked with the film the short film. He also said that the music worked well with the camera shots and editing. I agree with this point due to the fact that the lonely piano corresponds with the isolated feel of the short film and being alone. However the areas for development were that I should turn down the audio for the music due to the fact that it being too loud. To improve this I feel that I should listen to the audio more carefully so I can make the not too loud, and when editing to look at the audio levels to make sure they match with each other. The reason I did make it loud was because of the fact that I wanted to hide the background that would of taken away from the tension and atmosphere of the short film.

The last person who gave feedback on my short film was Sara. The feedback given was that the use of different angle was creative and good, whilst also having good camera movements within the film. I will make sure to include more theses in my future short films and make sure I have variety in the film with the shots and movements. For areas of development the feedback given was that I should more video effects, this means that I will make sure to take more time in editing and post production to make sure I have a better overall quality product. Another improvement I should make was that of turing down the music again. This tells me I need to improve on my editing with the audio and also take more time with post. So I can add video effects to make the film more interesting.

Overall I feel that this is good having other people to evaluate my short film, because it gives an extra view on the short film. It also tells me what I need to improve and what worked well for the short film, what I should do more of to make my short films better. I feel that next time I should spend more time in post with editing footage. I also feel that I should of chose a better location so I didn’t have to drown out the background noise with the music. In turn this meant I didn’t have to make the music quite as loud. This would of also helped with the tension and atmosphere of the short film.

Leave a Reply

