How to incorporate the theme of “change,” in my short film

I have been struggling over the past couple of days of how to incorporate the theme of change into my music video. My previous idea was to have the theme of change be the fact that it constantly changes location and editing effects, not really having a story. However after reviewing the idea over the past couple of days I feel that this is too vague and too discreet to be the theme of change.

So I have brainstormed another idea to have two talking scenes without music one before and after the music video. The idea is someone sitting on a brick wall when he receives a text about the new frank ocean song, he replies back with “you know I don’t like Frank Ocean,” However he watches the video anyway on his phone. This is where my music video plays as if it is the official music video. After watching the music video, he has changed his opinion on Frank Ocean and decides to follow him on Spotify.

I feel that this is a much more obvious way of showing change in my music video rather than doing it discreetly I actually have a story of change going through my music. This also helps due to the fact that I can work with sound in my short film even though its a music video. Giving more things to do for the FMP making my research more varied and more dense.

Leave a Reply

