The opening shaving scene, inspiration (shaving)

In this blog post I will be talking about where I got the inspiration from to open my short film with a shaving scene. After looking at early short films by famous directors I stumbled upon on one of Martin Scorsese’s earliest works. This is the short film Big shave:

After watching it this gave me idea to start my short film with a shaving scene, as I needed a beginning scene with some diegetic sound in it because the rest of my film would have none. I thought that this would be a good way of doing it. Due to the fact that you could pick up the sound from razor and the water and have different sounds being played, experimenting with that aspect of recording. I also liked how the beginning was mainly all close ups. I would use this for the scene just having extreme close ups, not showing the character’s face until he uses the towel.

Screen Shot 2017-05-22 at 09.46.00.png

I also liked how I would be paying a small nod to Martin’s work. But only a very few would get the connection. I also found it to be helpful looking at famous director’s films seeing how they started their careers.

Harvard referencing:

Big Shave (1967) short film

Initial release: 1967
Director: Martin Scorsese
Screenplay: Martin Scorsese
Producer: Martin Scorsese
Cinematography: Ares Demertzis
Cast: Peter Bernuth

Leave a Reply

